National Shearing Circuit

The National Shearing Circuit is a prestigious competition celebrating excellence in the skill of shearing. PGG Wrightson has sponsored the National Shearing Circuit for the past 18 years, and has recently renewed its sponsorship for the next three years.

Established in 1973 the circuit is approaching its fiftieth anniversary. Continuing its relationship with the event that began in 2003, under the current arrangement PGG Wrightson is co-sponsoring with animal health product manufacturer Nexan, meaning the event will be titled the PGG Wrightson Vetmed National Shearing Circuit.

Shearers compete for points over five rounds, starting in Alexandra in October with the fine wool section; moving to full wool hoggets in Waimate; Corriedales in Christchurch in November; lambs in Rangitikei on Waitangi Day; and concluding in Pahiatua later in February with second shears.

Based on points earned through those five rounds, the circuit final is fought out in Masterton by the top 12 shearers on the eve of the Golden Shears.

2021/2022 Shearing Circuit dates




1-2 October 2021        

NZ Merino Shearing Championships Merino


8-9 October 2021 NZ Spring Shears Romney Full Wool


11-12 November 2021

NZ Corriedale Shearing/Woolhandling Championships Hosted by the NZ Agricultural Show



5 February 2022 Rangitikei Shears Romney Lambs


27 February 2022 Pahiatua Shears Romney Second Shear
Masterton 3-5 March 2022 Golden Shears (Cancelled) Multi Breeds

National Shearing Circuit news